If under the age of 18, it is required to have held permit for at least 6 months before you can test with parent consent
Documents that will be needed:
-A valid Alaska Permit OR
-A photo ID and signed Permit test scores from the DMV
-Proof of current registration and insurance for the vehicle
If the tester provides the vehicle, it must have:
-Working headlights, tail lights, turn signals, front and rear license plates, rear view and both side mirrors, functional seat belts, and windshield without cracks impairing vision.
-Only the tester and the examiner are allowed in the vehicle.
During the test, the examiner is only there to give directions and score your driving skills. The examiner can answer questions before or after the test. It is a DMV requirement that questions cannot be answered while the test is in progress and no unnecessary talking with examiner.
After the road test is finished the examiner will explain what the tester needs to practice and answer any questions.
You will be automatically failed for any of the following:
Any violation of traffic laws, dangerous or reckless driving, lack of cooperation or refusing to follow direction, contributing to a wreck, inability to properly perform basic driving maneuvers.
If the tester fails the road test, they must wait at least 7 days before they can take the test again at any facility in Alaska.